Main Nav

One Second After

Click this cover for a(n) Audiobook sample of One Second After.
Wish list ribbon
One Second After Sample

One Second After

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the...
In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the...
Available formats-
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
  • OverDrive WMA Audiobook
Subjects-
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Reading Level:
    8 - 12


 
Description-
  • In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

    Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based upon a real weapon—the Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

    In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

 
Awards-
About the Author-
  • WILLIAM R. FORSTCHEN has a Ph.D. from Purdue University with specializations in military history and the history of technology. He is a faculty fellow and professor of history at Montreat College. He is the author of over forty books, including the award-winning young-adult novel We Look Like Men of War, and coauthor of the New York Times bestselling Gettysburg. He has also authored numerous short stories and articles about military history and military technology. He resides near Asheville, North Carolina, with his daughter and their dogs.

Reviews-
  • AudioFile Magazine What would happen in the U.S. in the event of an EMP (electromagnetic pulse) attack? The answer: Everything electronic--EVERYTHING--would be fried. That's exactly what happens in this story, which centers on Colonel John Matherson, U.S. Army, Retired, now a professor of history in Black Mountain, North Carolina. The characters' powers of ingenuity are challenged to the limit as they realize just how fragile the barrier between civilization and barbarism is. Joe Barrett's baritone is steady and sometimes a bit gravelly, and his serious tone suits these events well. His vocal characterizations are not as good as his narrative, but they do not distract from the story overall. M.T.F. (c) AudioFile 2009, Portland, Maine
  • David Hagberg, author of Dance with the Dragon 'Good storytelling consists very simply of creating characters so believable that the reader forms a deep bond….Shortly after the first page [of One Second After], I had been reeled in hook, line, and sinker.'
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Blackstone Audio, Inc.
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:
  • OverDrive WMA Audiobook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.
    OverDrive WMA Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Bookshelf to manage your titles.

×

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Bookshelf?

×

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are permitted to recommend at this time.

×

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

×
×

×

To recommend One Second After, complete the following information:

*indicates required information

(comma separates multiple email addresses, i.e. bob@aol.com, bob@hotmail.com)

Subject: Check out this downloadable title at the Seattle Public Library


We respect your privacy. Any and all information collected at this site will be kept strictly confidential and will not be sold, reused, rented, loaned, or otherwise disclosed.

×
Recommend this title to the library to be added to the Digital Collection
One Second After
One Second After
William R. Forstchen
×
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
One Second After
One Second After
William R. Forstchen
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title now.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
×